Go to content

Main menu


About The Conference

This conference is the second in a series of meetings on Coastal, Island and Tropical Tourism.  The theme of the conference is Global Impacts, Local Resilience and focuses on effective local responses to challenges that often have origins far beyond the affected communities.  The conference also incorporates the 6th Tourism Outlook Conference, which brought together tourism academics and scholars from throughout Malaysia to discuss current issues facing the country‚Äôs hospitality industry.  One of those issues is the scuba diving industry, for which Malaysia is a global leader.  As such, the conference will incorporate a special series of sessions that comprise the 2nd International Dive Tourism Expert Meeting.  This is a follow-up to the Dive Tourism Expert Meeting held in Kuala Lumpur in April 2010.  With some of the leading dive destinations in the world, the Malaysian state of Sabah is an appropriate place to hold the dive symposium and to appreciate the importance of coastal, island and tropical tourism destinations.












DOWNLOAD FOR FREE: Special Issue of Tourism Geographies on Tropical Island and Coastal Tourism based, in part, on the First Coastal, Island and Tropical Tourism Conference in 2011 in Martinique.

Conference Sponsors

  • UiTM Sabah (Universiti Teknologi MARA, Kampus Sabah), Faculty of Hotel and Tourism Management

  • UiTM Shah Alam (Universiti Teknologi MARA, Kampus Shah Alam), Faculty of Hotel and Tourism Management

  • UTM(Universiti Technologi Malaysia), Centre for Innovative Planning and Development

  • NAU (Northern Arizona University), Department of Geography, Planning and Recreation

  • Tourism Geographies journal, Routledge, UK
  • IGU (International Geographical Union), Commission on the Geography of Tourism, Leisure and Global Change

Conference Supporters

  • Tourism Malaysia

  • Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Environment Sabah

  • Sabah Tourism Board

  • Sabah Parks

  • Malaysia Airports Bhd

  • WWF-Malaysia, Sabah Office

Conference Secretariat

  • Norain Othman, UiTM Shah Alam

  • Siti Hajar Md Shahar, UiTM Sabah

  • Alan A. Lew, NAU

Scientific Committee

  • Jennifer Chan, UMS

  • Mark Hampton, Kent University, UK

  • Amran Hamzah, UTM

  • Balvinder Kaur, UMS

  • Spencer Hedley Mogindol, UiTM-Sabah

  • Ghazali Musa, UM

Back to content | Back to main menu